The Good, The bad, The Deadline

For this assignment, we were asked to create a conceptual “how to” magazine spread.

I loved this project. My favourite part was coming up with concepts: I made pages and pages of pencil and watercolour mini illustrations. But, to explain the process, I should backtrack a little.

The spread is meant to target young people, have an eco or sustainable connection, and have some avenues for visual and graphic appeal. I tried to think of topics that were inherently interesting, young, and appealing for me to make illustrations for. The first thing that came to mind was “how to stay warm like a pro.” Instead of increasing the electric bill by turning up the heat, why not cuddle up with your partner? I liked the idea of making environmental jokes with romantic undertones. The other idea I had was how to eco decorate. Found items, such as beach glass and driftwood, could make nice decorations in home, rather than wastefully buying a new product. The third idea was thrift shopping like a pro, which is self-explanatory. The final idea, and the one I tried to pursue, was “how to save your socks.” We’re living in a culture where instead of repairing something old, we throw it away and buy something new. Obviously, this causes a lot of waste, environmental damage, and a decrease in our own autonomy.

How do you show depict saving something old by repairing it? I had fun with the idea of the sock as a “Frankenstein’s Monster,” rising from the “grave” (or garbage, in this case.) This is where I tried to be as conceptual with my layouts as possible.

Eventually, I had a solid concept and a fun layout.

save-your-socks-layout-v2save-your-socks-layout-page-2

Now all I had to do was execute it.

“All.”

I had.

To do.

This is where “the bad” comes in, and it’s my bad. I didn’t organize my time properly and I wasn’t able to finish this project, which is a shame.

I would give myself a passing grade, but not much beyond that. I’m disappointed that I didn’t organize the type. I think the lesson learned here is that conceptualization is extremely important but if you burn yourself out too quickly, you won’t have the juice to see the project through.

 

Leave a Reply

