Color and Light

This is a 6 x 9 inch gouache painting on illustration board. We were asked to depict a romantic scene in a 1950’s American illustration style. Color and light were two factors I tried to take into account, so rather than using my go-to night palette (blue) I started with an orange underpainting. I also used touches of reds, yellows, and violets throughout, even in the blue of the night sky. I tried to consider reflection and transparency when I painted the umbrella. Learning about color has been fascinating, and it makes me realize that what I’ve done here has fallen short. The more I learn, the more I see things to improve. Creating an illustration involves limitless considerations, and so much of what we feel is unsayable – depicting something romantic was especially difficult. I don’t know how to do it justice. But seeing what can be improved gives me hope that if I keep studying and learning, one day I’ll be able to.

love - final version

Leave a Reply

