is nothingness enough / an essay

I used to live in Victoria, BC, and I hadn’t seen the “no name” brand until I moved to Vancouver. As someone increasingly interested in graphic design, it came as a shock to see packaging with one font, one hideous color, no pictures of the food, and “no name.” It was the antithesis of every other package in the grocery store, and the polar opposite of what my design intuition said food packaging “should be.” What did the enigmatic no name brand want from me? What was message behind the ominously homogeneous and faceless design? And how could I resist those affordable prices? I’m immensely pleased to have written a paper on Don Watt, the brilliant designer behind the brand, and the concept that sometimes a lack of distinction is the distinction between one brand and another. Below is a link.

is nothingness enough

Leave a Reply

