A Disastrous Rebus / Introductions

Guess the word. In-class assignment for IDES 141.

I’ll go by “Pollard” because there’s another “Jesse” in my class. I’m from Victoria, B.C., but currently live in Vancouver to attend the IDEA program at Capilano University. I joined the program because I love to communicate through visual mediums. Comics, design, and illustration fascinate me, but so do medieval studies and English. If I could choose a time period to live in, it would be the High Middle Ages, so I could meet Julian of Norwich, an anchoress, mystic, and author. I’m inspired by poetry and literature, as well as artists such as Moebius, who I poorly attempt to imitate on occasion. Here are a few visuals of his work:

1

I like these pieces in part, for the content. Moebius’ character designs and mysterious desert worlds contain a thousand brilliant details that bring the scenes to life. I also like what he omits: the portrait below is an example of his deceptively simple style. In this picture, the lack of lines and shading on the figure’s skin make the character more lively and convincing. I find his use of flat colours compelling, unique, and balanced by his detailed line-work.

doorofperception.com-moebius-color-48

I would like to return to my thoughts on Julian of Norwich and my time period of choice. From the so-called “Dark Ages” emerged some of the most beautiful works of art. It was during the plague years that Julian created Revelations of Divine Love, a constant inspiration for me, mostly for its messages, but also for the stunning imagery in the visions.

The inspiration I draw from Moebius is artistic and the inspiration I draw from Julian is existential. For me the will to create and the will to live, in a greater sense, are tied.

“And in this he showed me a little thing, the quantity of a hazelnut, lying in the palm of my hand, it seemed, and it was as round as any ball. I looked thereupon with the eye of my understanding, and I thought, ‘What may this be?’ And it was answered generally thus: ‘It is all that is made.’ I wondered how it could last, for I thought it might suddenly fall to nothing for little cause.”

Revelations of Divine Love, ch.V, Westminster MS.

Leave a Reply

